Aviva Directory » Local & Global » Asia » Timor-Leste

Timor-Leste, sometimes known as East Timor, is officially named the Democratic Republic of Timor-Leste. Located on the eastern half of the island of Timor, it was colonized by Portugal in the 1500s and was called Portuguese Timor until the Carnation Revolution in 1974. It declared independence in 1975 but was almost immediately invaded by Indonesia and was made an Indonesian province in 1976. In 1999, Indonesia relinquished control of the small country which became a sovereign state in 2002.



Recommended Resources

Search for Timor-Leste on Google, Bing, or Yahoo!