Aviva Directory » Local & Global » North America » United States » States » Michigan » Cities & Towns » Pewamo

Pewamo, Michigan is in east Ionia County, on the border of Clinton County. It is surrounded by Lyons Township to the north, west, and south, and by Dallas Township to the east.

The main route to and from Pewano is M-21 (Bluewater Highway), which forms a portion of its southern boundary in the west, then cuts northeast across the southeast portion of the village. Others include Hubbardston Road and Pewamo Road.

Cities and villages within twenty-five miles of Pewano include Muir, Fowler, Lyons, Hubbardston, Westphalia, Portland, Ionia, Carson City, St. Johns, Maple Rapids, Eagle, Saranac, and Ovid.

With a current population of just under 500, Pewamo's peak population was 560 in 2000.

Pewamo was founded as a railroad town. As the Detroit and Milwaukee Railroad progressed westward in the late 1850s, villages were formed along the line wherever the chief engineer of the railroad, Robert G. Higham, chose to place a station. Finding a spot where the village of Pewamo is now located, Mr. Higham, along with Dr. W.C. Blanchard, J.O. Blanchard, A.F. Bell, and Amos Gould, purchased the land for a village from John C. Blanchard, who had bought it from Cuyler Deitz, Ben Mosher, and a Mr. Bissell, after learning that a railroad was coming through.

The railroad built a station there in 1857, and a village site was surveyed by A.F. Bell that same year, but not recorded until 1859, so the official founding of the village is recorded as 1859. J.C. Blanchard named the village for Chief Pewamo whom he had made an acquaintance with sometime earlier.

A post office was established on July 14, 1857, and Hiram W. Blanchard, a storekeeper, served as the first postmaster. Pewamo was incorporated as a village in 1871, with Amos W. Sherwood as its first president.

In 1874, an additional fifty acres were added to the village.

Besides those already named, early residents and businesspeople included Cuyler Dietz, Ira Fisher, Franklin Gilbert, O.W. Holley, Snell A. Hungerford, Benjamin Marsh, B.H. Morse, K.L. Morse, Ben Mother, John Pennington, Hugh Robinson, Tom Robinson, and Daniel Shepard.

Dr. Lafayette Jones became the first resident doctor in Pewamo when he came in 1867, remaining until 1876. Dr. William H. Chaddock came in 1868, and was in practice there until the 1880s. Other doctors that served the village in the early days included Dr. Herman, Dr. Outwater, Dr. Ward, Dr. May, and Dr. Carpenter, most of whom stayed for only a short time.

Today, the village occupies about one square mile, and is a small residential community with basic services, including light industrial, commercial, and emergency services.

A paved portion of the 41-mile Fred Meijer Clinton-Ionia-Shiawassee Trail passes through the village, including a Trailhead, fashioned after the original Pewamo Depot. The Trailhead Welcome Center includes restrooms, a drinking fountain, shaded picnic tables, and railroad displays. The trail connects Pewamo with Owosso, Ovid, St. Johns, Fowler, Muir, Lyons, and Ionia, following a former railroad corridor.

Downtown, at the intersection of State Street and Main Street, there is a deli, lounge, bar and grill, and salon. The village hall is on Main Street, next to Sesquicentennial Park. Northwest of downtown is Blossom Time Park, a nine-acre facility with baseball fields, tennis courts, a volleyball court, horseshoe pits, pavilions, and playground equipment.

Appropriate resources for this category include websites representing the municipal government, any other governmental entities within the village, and local businesses, industries, schools, places of worship, organizations, attractions, events, entertainment venues, and recreational opportunities.



Recommended Resources

Search for Pewamo on Google or Bing