Aviva Directory » Local & Global » North America » United States » States » Mississippi » Cities & Towns » New Augusta

New Augusta, Mississippi is the county seat of Perry County, in the southeastern part of the state. Originally founded in 1812 as Augusta, the town was situated along the Leaf River, about two miles north of its current location, and served as the county seat from 1818 to 1906. However, when the Mobile, Jackson and Kansas City Railroad bypassed the city, the town moved two miles south in order to be near the railroad. Old Augusta was gradually abandoned between 1902 and 1906, and was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1979, and designated a Mississippi Landmark in 1999. As the original town site was still inhabited when the new town was formed, it was referred to as New Augusta, and has retained that name. New Augusta became the county seat in 1906. James Copeland, a co-leader of the Wages and Copeland Clan, an outlaw gang, was captured and hung in Old Augusta in 1857. New Augusta is on the northern edge of the DeSota National Forest. Nearby communities include Beaumont, Belleville, Ferguson, Hintonville, Kittrell, Mahned, and Redhill. Hattiesburg, Mississippi is about twenty miles northwest of New Augusta.



Recommended Resources

Search for New Augusta on Google, Bing, or Yahoo!