Aviva Directory » Local & Global » North America » United States » States » Montana » Cities & Towns » Anaconda

Anaconda is the county seat of Anaconda-Deer Lodge County, which operates as a consolidated city-county government. Anaconda is located at the foot of the Pintler Mountains in southwestern Montana. The city-county borders on Beaverhead, Butte-Silver Bow, Granite, Jefferson, and Powell counties. Anaconda was founded by Marcus Daly, one of the Copper Kings, who financed the building of a smelter on Warm Springs Creek to process copper ore from the Butte mines. The town was platted in 1883 and when Montana became a state in 1889, Daly lobbied to have the capital moved to Anaconda, but it remained in Helena. The Anaconda Mining Company, owned by Marcus Daly, was later acquired by Atlantic Richfield Company, forming the primary economy for the city until the closure of the smelter in 1980. Prominent people who were residents of Anaconda have included the actress, Lucille Ball.


Places to Stay



Recommended Resources

Search for Anaconda on Google, Bing, or Yahoo!