Aviva Directory » Local & Global » North America » United States » States » Montana » Cities & Towns » Laurel

The city of Laurel is in Yellowstone County, Montana. Prior to the founding of the community, people passed through the area during the gold rush period, coming by team and wagon, and by small steamer vessels up the Yellowstone River. Settlement of the area didn’t begin until 1877, after the power of the Sioux was broken. In 1879, a section house, which also served as a post office, was constructed there, although it was originally named Carlton. In 1883, its name was changed to Laurel. By 1906, Laurel was considered a town but it was not incorporated as a town until 1908, becoming a city two months later. Many Laurel residents commute fifteen miles to Billings, to the northeast. Park City and Columbus are west of Laurel, and Silesia and Rockvale are to the south.


Faith & Spirituality



Recommended Resources

Search for Laurel on Google, Bing, or Yahoo!