Aviva Directory » Local & Global » North America » United States » States » Nebraska » Cities & Towns » Aurora

The city of Aurora is the county seat of Hamilton County, Nebraska. The first permanent settler in the area was David Millspaw, who came in 1861. Hamilton County was organized in 1870, and Aurora was platted in 1871 by David Stone, who named it for his Illinois hometown. In 1876, the county seat was moved from Orville City, now extinct, to Aurora. Ron Spencer, an illustrator whose work was used for the collectible card game, Magic: The Gathering, grew up on a farm in Aurora. The city is south of Central City and east of Grand Island.


Education & Instruction

Faith & Spirituality

Places to Shop

Services & Industries



Recommended Resources

Search for Aurora on Google or Bing