Aviva Directory » Local & Global » North America » United States » States » New Hampshire » Cities & Towns » Carroll

The town of Carroll, in Coos County, New Hampshire, was granted to Sir Thomas Wentworth, Samuel Langdon, and eighty-one others, by Governor John Wentworth in 1772. Residents petitioned the legislature to incorporate as the town of Haven in 1830 but, when some of the petitioners withdrew their petition, it was ignored, and the town as incorporated as Carroll in 1832, its boundaries including the villages of Crawfords, Bretton Woods, Fabyans, and Twin Mountain. Carroll is crossed by the Appalachian Trail, and includes several areas in the White Mountains, with a large portion of the town within the White Mountain National Forest.


Places to Stay



Recommended Resources

Search for Carroll on Google, Bing, or Yahoo!