Aviva Directory » Local & Global » North America » United States » States » New Hampshire » Cities & Towns » New Ipswich

The town of New Ipswich is in Hillsborough County, on New Hampshire’s border with Massachusetts. The town includes the villages of Bank, Davis, Gibson, Four Corners, Highbridge, New Ipswich Center, Smithville, and Wilder, although today they exist mostly as neighborhoods of New Ipswich. In 1735, New Ipswich was granted to a group of people from Ipswich, Massachusetts by Colonial Governor Jonathan Belcher, which is where its name came from. Settlement of the new town began in 1738, and the town was incorporated as Ipswich in 1762, which was changed to New Ipswich in 1766. Its early economy was centered around mills and factories, powered by water power from the Souhegan River. New Ipswich is bordered by Greenville, Mason, Rindge, Sharon, and Temple, as well as Ashburnham and Ashby, Massachusetts, to the south.



Recommended Resources

Search for New Ipswich on Google, Bing, or Yahoo!