Aviva Directory » Local & Global » North America » United States » States » Ohio » Cities & Towns » Columbus

Columbus, the capital of Ohio, is the county seat of Franklin County, though it is also in Delaware and Fairfield Counties. Named Franklinton in honor of Ben Franklin, the settlement was decimated by the 1798 flood and was thereafter rebuilt to some extent. In 1803, Ohio was admitted into the Union but political fighting caused the capital to be moved from Chillicothe and Zanesville and back. The legislature designated it the new capital and renamed it in honor of Christopher Columbus.


Education & Instruction

Faith & Spirituality

Places to Stay

Services & Industries

Things to Do & Places to Go



Recommended Resources

Search for Columbus on Google or Bing