Aviva Directory » Local & Global » North America » United States » States » Ohio » Cities & Towns » Fremont

The City of Fremont, Ohio is the seat of Sandusky County. Fremont was the home of Rutherford B. Hayes, the 19th president of the United States, and the Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center is located in the city. The community began as a French trading post in the 1750s, and was originally known as Lower Sandusky. In 1849, residents changed the village’s name to Fremont, in honor of John C. Fremont, who had just acquired California for the United States.


Faith & Spirituality

Services & Industries



Recommended Resources

Search for Fremont on Google, Bing, or Yahoo!