Aviva Directory » Local & Global » Asia » United Arab Emirates » Cities & Towns

The ten largest cities in the United Arab Emirates are Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Sharjah, Al Ain, Ajman, Ras Al Khaimah, Al Gharbia, Fujairah, Dibba, and Umm al-Quwain. These include the capital cities of each of the Emirates.

Dubai is the largest city in the UAE and the capital city of the Emirate of Dubai. The earliest record of Dubai was in 1095 when it was listed in a book of geography. In the early 1700s, Dubai was a fishing village and, in 1822 its population was just over a thousand. By 1900, its population had reached 10,000 and has increased significantly each year since.

Abu Dhabi is the second most populated city in the United Arab Emirates, and the capital city of the UAE, as well as the capital of the Emirate of Abu Dhabi. The city is situated on a T-shaped island. The center of the country's political and industrial activities, as well as a major commercial center, Abu Dhabi accounts for about two-thirds of the UAE economy.

Sharjah is the third largest city in the UAE, by population. Situated along the southern coast of the Persian Gulf, it is the capital city of the Emirate of Sharjah and has been ruled by the Al Qasimi dynasty since the 1700s.

Al Ain is situated on the United Arab Emirate's border with Oman, in the Emirate of Abu Dhabi. It is the largest inland city in the UAE, and the fourth-largest overall.

Located along the Persian Gulf, the city of Ajman is the capital of the Emirate of Ajman. More than ninety percent of the population of the emirate resides in the capital city, which forms a continuous urban area with Dubai.

Ras Al Khaimah is the capital city of the emirate by that name, which is on the northern portion of the United Arab Emirates, bordering Oman's exclave of Musandam. There are two sections of the city, Old Ras Al Khaimah, and Nakheel, which are separated by a creek. People have inhabited the area for several millennia.

Al Gharbia is one of three municipalities in the Emirate of Abu Dhabi, and the largest in the area but the smallest in population.

Fujairah is the capital city of the emirate by that name, one of seven making up the United Arab Emirates. It is the only one of the seven with a coastline on the Gulf of Oman but not the Persian Gulf. Fujairah is the only emirate that is almost entirely mountainous. The city is home to the oldest mosque in the United Arab Emirates, constructed in 1446.

Spanning the Emirate of Fujairah, the Emirate of Sharjah, and the Governorate of Musandam, Oman, the city of Dibba is situated at the northern end of the eastern Arabian Peninsula on the Gulf of Oman. Its harbor has been a significant part of the maritime trade since before the Islamic era.

Umm al-Quwain is the capital city of the emirate by the same name, the least populous of the seven emirates. Located in northern UAE, the area on which the city sits has been populated since the 5th millennium BC or earlier.

Topics related to cities, towns, and villages in the United Arab Emirates, in general, are appropriate for this category, and those representing specific cities, towns or villages may be listed in this category or its subcategories. This includes sites representing businesses, industries, schools, religious institutions, or organizations within any of the villages, towns, or cities of the Emirates.

This includes the ten cities discussed above, as well as any of the smaller villages, towns, or cities that are not specifically mentioned here. Sites whose topics relate to the entire country, or to an area wider than one specific city, should be placed directly beneath the United Arab Emirates category, or an appropriate topical category.


Abu Dhabi


Al Ain



Ras Al Khaimah




Recommended Resources

Search for Cities & Towns on Google or Bing