Aviva Directory » Local & Global » North America » United States » States » New York » Cities & Towns » New York » Boroughs

New York City is one of the largest cities in the world and is divided into five entities, called boroughs, each of which is a self-governing part of the city, and each in a different county, is represented by a borough president, and all except for Manhattan have a borough hall. The borough of Manhattan conducts the same functions in the Manhattan Municipal Building. The borough president has no legislative powers and very little in the way of executive powers.





Staten Island

The Bronx